Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2012/069815 entitled "Interleukin-10 spot-forming cells as a novel biomarker of chronic graft-versus-host disease"

Authors: Masahiro Hirayama, Eiichi Azuma, Atsuko Nakagawa-Nakazawa, Tadashi Kumamoto, Shotaro Iwamoto, Keishiro Amano, Shigehisa Tamaki, Eiji Usui, and Yoshihiro Komada

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Masahiro Hirayama, Department of Pediatrics, Mie University Graduate School of Medicine, hirayama@clin.medic.mie-u.ac.jp
- Eiichi Azuma, Department of Cell Transplantation, Mie University Graduate School of Medicine, e-azuma@clin.medic.mie-u.ac.jp

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Masahiro Hirayama, Eiichi Azuma
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations:
- Masahiro Hirayama and Eiichi Azuma were responsible for whole design and methods.
- Shigehisa Tamaki and Eiji Usui were responsible for Patients and sample collection.
- Tadashi Kumamoto, Shotaro Iwamoto, and Keishiro Amano were responsible for Flow cvtometry and ELISA assay.
- Atsuko Nakagawa-Nakazawa was responsible for Immunohistochemistry.
- Yoshihiro Komada supervised whole design and methods.
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables:
- Masahiro Hirayama and Eiichi Azuma were responsible for all Tables and Figures.
- Shigehisa Tamaki and Eiji Usui were responsible for Table 1.
- Atsuko Nakagawa-Nakazawa was responsible for Figure 5.
- Tadashi Kumamoto, Shotaro Iwamoto, and Keishiro Amano were responsible for Figure 3 and 4.
- Yoshihiro Komada supervised whole results.
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Masahiro Hirayama and Eiichi Azuma were responsible for whole manuscript.
- 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments: none