Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2012/066670 entitled "Hemorheological risk factors of acute chest syndrome and painful vaso-occlusive crisis in children with sickle cell disease"

Authors: Lamarre Y, Romana M, Waltz X, Lalanne-Mistrih ML, Tressieres B, Divialle-Doumdo L, Hardy-Dessources MD, Vent-Schmidt J, Petras M, Broquere C, Maillard F, Tarer V, Etienne-Julan M, Connes P.

## Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
 Connes Philippe, UMR Inserm 665, CHU de Pointe à Pitre, Hôpital Ricou, 97159 Pointe à Pitre, Guadeloupe. Email: pconnes@yahoo.fr

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (<u>http://www.icmje.org/ethical\_1author.html</u>): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 ....... <u>Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the</u> research group alone does not constitute authorship".

## The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the **conception of the study**: Lamarre Yann, Romana Marc, Lalanne-Mistrih Marie-Laure, Tressieres Benoit, Hardy-Dessources Marie-Dominique, Etienne-Julan Maryse, Maillard Frederic, Tarer Vanessa and Connes Philippe.

3) **Design & Methods**. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):

• Lamarre Yann, Romana Marc, Waltz Xavier, Hardy-Dessources Vent-Schmidt and Connes Philippe were responsible for hemorheological/hematological measurements.

• Divialle-Doumdo Lydia, Petras Marie, Maillard Frederic and Etienne-Julan were responsible for the clinical follow-up and screening of patients.

• Romana Marc and Broquere Cedric were responsible for genotyping.

4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):

• Lamarre Yann, Romana Marc and Connes Philippe were responsible for all the tables.

• Tressieres Benoit and Connes Philippe were responsible for all the statistical analyses.

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
Lamarre Yann, Romana Marc, Hardy-Dessources and Connes Philippe were responsible for writing the manuscript.

• Waltz Xavier, Lalanne-Mistrih Marie-Laure, Tressieres Benoit, Divialle-Doumdo Lydia, Vent-Schmidt Jens, Petras Marie, Broquere Cedric, Maillard Frederic, Tarer Vanessa and Etienne-Julan Maryse read and agreed with the manuscript content.

## 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

The study has been funded by a Projet Hospitalier de Recherche Clinique (PHRC) Interregional. The authors wish to thank Dr. Martine Torres for her critical review of the manuscript and editorial assistance.