Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2012/061770 entitled "ETS1 encoding a transcription factor involved in B-cell differentiation is recurrently deleted and downregulated in classical Hodgkin lymphoma"

Authors: Birte Malaika Overbeck, Jose Inaki Martin-Subero, Ole Ammerpohl, Wolfram Klapper, Reiner Siebert and Maciej Giefing.

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Maciej Giefing, Institute of Human Genetics; Polish Academy of Sciences; Strzeszyńska 32; 60-479 Poznań; Poland; giefingm@man.poznan.pl

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Reiner Siebert, Jose Inaki Martin-Subero, Ole Ammerpohl, Maciej Giefing
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):
- Birte Malaika Overbeck and Maciej Giefing were responsible for FISH and FICTION analyses
- Wolfram Klapper was responsible for immunohistochemical analyses
- Maciej Giefing was responsible for mutation analyses
- Ole Ammerpohl, Jose Inaki Martin-Subero and Reiner Siebert were responsible for microarray methylation analyses and interpretation of the results
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- Ole Ammerpohl and Jose Inaki Martin-Subero were responsible for statistical analyses
- Jose Inaki Martin-Subero and Maciej Giefing were responsible for table 1
- Jose Inaki Martin-Subero, Wolfram Klapper and Maciej Giefing were responsible for figure 1
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Maciej Giefing and Jose Inaki Martin-Subero were responsible for writing the manuscript
- Reiner Siebert was responsible for revising the manuscript

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments: As in the epub version.