Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2012/065581 entitled "RHAMM/HMMR (CD168) is not an ideal target antigen for immunotherapy of acute myeloid leukemia"

Authors: Sylvia Snauwaert, Stijn Vanhee, Glenn Goetgeluk, Greet Verstichel, Yasmine Van Caeneghem, Imke Velghe, Jan Philippé, Zwi N. Berneman, Jean Plum, Tom Taghon, Georges Leclerca, Kris Thielemans, Tessa Kerre and Bart Vandekerckhove.

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Sylvia Snauwaert, Department of Clinical Chemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, Ghent University, Ghent University Hospital, Ghent, Belgium, Sylvia. Snauwaert@ugent.be
- Tessa Kerre, Department of Clinical Chemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, Ghent University, Ghent University Hospital, Ghent, Belgium, Tessa.Kerre@ugent.be
- Bart Vandekerckhove, Department of Clinical Chemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, Ghent University, Ghent University Hospital, Ghent, Belgium, Bart.Vandekerckhove@ugent.be

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical\_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 ...... Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Sylvia Snauwaert . Tessa Kerre, Bart Vandekerckhove, Jean Plum, Tom Taghon, Georges Leclercq, Kris Thielemans
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):
- Sylvia Snauwaert was responsible for design of experiments, acquisition of data, analysis and interpretation of data
- Glenn Goetgeluk was responsible for acquisitionand interpretation of data
- Kris Thielemans, Tessa Kerre and Bart Vandekerckhove designed experiments
- Stijn Vanhee, Yasmine Van Caeneghem, Greet Verstichel and Imke Velghe: analysis and interpretation of data
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- Sylvia Snauwaert, Tessa Kerre and Bart Vandekerckhove were responsible for all figures and table 1.
- Jan Philippé provided the data of table 1
- Stijn Vanhee helped with the statistical analysis and gPCR data analysis.
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Sylvia Snauwaert, Tessa Kerre and Bart Vandekerckhove were responsible for the writing of the manuscript and final approval.
- Yasmine Van Caeneghem, Greet Verstichel, Jean Plum, Tom Taghon, Georges Leclercq, Kris Thielemans, Zwi N. Berneman and Stijn Vanhee reviewed the manuscript and made important suggestions.

## 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

- Christiaan De Boever for performing art work
- Dr. Dominique De Bleser (Red Cross Flanders, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium) for providing cord blood samples
- The medical staff of the Hematology department of the Ghent University Hospital for providing the AML samples
- Dr. Tom Boterberg for the irradiation of the mice
- Jet Robin and Eelke Vandenberghe for the animal care
- Roos Colman (Dep Biostatistics, Ghent University) for the help with the statistical analysis