Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2012/062299 entitled "A novel deletion of B-globin promoter causing high HbA2 in Indian population"

Authors: Thiyagaraj Mayuranathan, Janakiram Rayabaram, Eunice Sindhuvi Edison, Alok Srivastava, Shaji R Velayudhan.

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

 Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
 Shaji R Velayudhan, Professor, Department of Haematology rvshaji@cmcvellore.ac.in

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE)

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the **conception of the study:** Alok Srivastava and Shaji R Velayudhan

3) **Design & Methods**. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):

• Shaji R Velayudhan and Thiyagaraj Mayuranathan were responsible for design of the study and establishment of methods suitable for this study.

• Shaji R Velayudhan was responsible for supervision of the design and methods

4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):

- Thiyagaraj Mayuranathan was responsible for figures 1a, 1b, 2a, 2c and S1.
- Janakiram Rayabaram was responsible for figure 2b.
- Alok Srivastava was responsible for table 1.

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
Thiyagaraj Manyuranathan and Janakiram Rayabaram were responsible for writing the first manuscript.

• Shaji R Velayudhan and Alok Srivastava were responsible for organization of the manuscript and correction and finalization of the manuscript.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

Financial support from Department of Biotechnology, Government of India is acknowledged.