Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2011/049478 entitled "Identification of 4 novel HLA-B*40:01 restricted minor histocompatibility antigens and their potential as targets for Graft-versus-Leukemia reactivity"

Authors: Marieke Griffioen, M. Willy Honders, Simone A.P. van Luxemburg-Heijs, Edith D. van der Meijden, Ellie G.A. Lurvink, Michel G.D. Kester, Cornelis A.M. van Bergen, and J.H. Frederik Falkenburg

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Marieke Griffioen, Leiden University Medical Center, M.Griffioen@lumc.nl
- M. Willy Honders, Leiden University Medical Center, M.W.Honders@lumc.nl
- Simone A.P. van Luxemburg-Heijs, Leiden University Medical Center, S.A.P.van_Luxemburg-Heijs@lumc.nl
- Edith D. van der Meijden, Leiden University Medical Center, E.D.van_der_Meijden@lumc.nl
- Ellie G.A. Lurvink, Leiden University Medical Center, E.G.A. Lurvink@lumc.nl
- Michel G.D. Kester, Leiden University Medical Center, M.G.D.Kester@lumc.nl
- Cornelis A.M. van Bergen, Leiden University Medical Center, C.A.M.van_Bergen@lumc.nl
- J.H. Frederik Falkenburg, Leiden University Medical Center, J.H.F.Falkenburg@lumc.nl

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Marieke Griffioen and J.H. Frederik Falkenburg
- 3) **Design & Methods**. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations:
- Marieke Griffioen was responsible for isolation and culture of the T-cell clones, Enzyme Linked Immunosorbent assays and in vivo T-cell monitoring.
- M. Willy Honders was responsible for isolation and culture of the T-cell clones, Enzyme Linked Immunosorbent assays, Chromium release assays, construction and screening of the plasmid cDNA expression library, retroviral transduction, whole genome association scanning, genotyping for single nucleotide polymorphisms, microarray gene expression analysis and in vivo T-cell monitoring.
- Simone A.P. van Luxemburg-Heijs was responsible for isolation and culture of the T-cell clones, Enzyme Linked Immunosorbent assays and chromium release assays.
- Edith D. van der Meijden was responsible for retroviral transduction and whole genome association scanning.
- Ellie G.A. Lurvink was responsible for colony forming cell assays.
- Michel G.D. Kester was responsible for production of MHC-tetrameric complexes.
- Cornelis A.M. van Bergen was responsible for whole genome association scanning.
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables:

- Marieke Griffioen was responsible for Figures 3, 4 and 5 and Supplementary Figure 2.
- M. Willy Honders was responsible for Table 1, Figure 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 and Supplementary Figures 1, 2 and 4.
- Simone A.P. van Luxemburg-Heijs was responsible for Figures 1 and 3.
- Edith D. van der Meijden was responsible for Table 1 and Figure 2.
- Ellie G.A. Lurvink was responsible for Supplementary Figure 3.
- Michel G.D. Kester was responsible for Figure 5.
- Cornelis A.M. van Bergen was responsible for Table 1 and Figure 2.
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Marieke Griffioen was responsible for writing the manuscript.
- J.H. Frederik Falkenburg was responsible for writing the manuscript.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

- Menno van der Hoorn and Guido de Roo provided technical help with flowcytometric sorting.
- This work was supported by a grant from the European Union 6th Framework Programme, Allostem project no. 503319.