Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2011/046235 entitled "Endoglin expression level discriminates long-term hematopoietic from short-term clonogenic progenitor cells in the aorta"

Authors: Marion Roques, Charles Durand, Rodolphe Gautier, Pierre-Yves Canto, Laurence Petit-Cocault, Laurent Yvernogeau, Dominique Dunon, Michèle Souyri and Thierry Jaffredo

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Thierry Jaffredo, CNRS UMR7622, thierry.jaffredo@upmc.fr

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: JAFFREDO Thierry, SOUYRI MIchèle and DURAND Charles. GAUTIER Rodolphe originally noticed that CD 105 was expressed by the aortic hematopoietic clusters.
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations
- Thierry Jaffredo was responsible for the design of the whole study. He was more particularly involved in aspects regarding immunodetection and flow cytometry.
- Michèle Souyri, Rodolphe Gautier were responsible for the fine tuned characterisation of the CD105 positive population using flow cytometry.
- Michèle Souyri was responsible for the statistical analysis
- Charles Durand was responsible for the fine tuned isolation of CD105int and CD105 high population, clonal cultures and RT-PCR analysis and statistical analysis.
- Marion Roques, Michèle Souyri and Laurence Petit-Cocault were responsible for the CAFC longterm cultures.
- Dominique Dunon provided antibodies critical for the flow cytometry analysis and helped analyzing the flow cytometry data
- Laurent Yvernogeau contributed to technical help for microdissections critical for establishment of the results.
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- Marion Roques was responsible for the production of mouse immunohistological figures (Fig1A to G) and supplementary Figure 1.
- Pierre-Yves Canto was responsible for the production of the human immunohistological images (Fig1H).
- Michèle Souyri and Rodolphe Gautier were responsible for the flow cytometry analysis depicted
- Charles Durand was responsible for the clonal cultures and the PCR reported in Fig. 3
- Marion Roques was responsible for the CAFC long-term cultures reported in Fig 3C.

- Charles Durand was responsible for the flow cytometry analysis reported in Supplementary Fig 2.
- Charles Durand was responsible for the Image Stream analysis of Supplementary Fig. 3.
- Michèle Souyri and Laurence Petit-Cocault were responsible for testing the lymphoid potential of Supplementary Fig 4.
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Thierry Jaffredo: writing, revision and final approval of the manuscript
- Michèle Souyri: writing and revision of the manuscript
- Charles Durand: writing and revision of the manuscript
- 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments: All the people listed contributed to a significant part of the manuscript. No external help was provided for the writing. Sophie Gournet for excellent image preparation.

Denis Clay (Institut André Lwoff, Villejuif) and Annie Munier (IFR83, UPMC Paris) for cell sorting and analysis.

Nicole Boggetto (Institut Jacques Monod, ImagoSeine Bioimaging Core Facility, Paris) for cell sorting and expertise with Imagestream analysis.