Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2011/048231 entitled "A multicenter phase II trial of decitabine as first-line treatment for older patients with acute myeloid leukemia judged unfit for induction chemotherapy"

Authors: Michael Lübbert, Björn H. Rüter, Rainer Claus, Claudia Schmoor, Mathias Schmid, Ulrich Germing, Andrea Kuendgen, Volker Rethwisch, Arnold Ganser, Uwe Platzbecker, Oliver Galm, Wolfram Brugger, Gerhard Heil, Björn Hackanson, Barbara Deschler, Konstanze Döhner, Anne Hagemeijer, Pierre W. Wijermans, Hartmut Döhner

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:

• Michael Lübbert, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Hematology and Oncology Albert-Ludwigs-University, Freiburg, Hugstetter Str. 55 79106 Freiburg, Germany Phone: (49) 761-270-32790, Fax: (49) 761-270-36970 E-mail: michael.luebbert@uniklinik-freiburg.de

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Michael Lübbert, Claudia Schmoor, Björn Rüter, Pierre W. Wijermans, Konstanze and Hartmut Döhner

3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations

Michael Lübbert, Björn H. Rüter, Rainer Claus, Mathias Schmid, Ulrich Germing, Andrea Kuendgen, Volker Rethwisch, Arnold Ganser, Uwe Platzbecker, Oliver Galm, Wolfram Brugger, Gerhard Heil, Björn Hackanson, Barbara Deschler, Konstanze Döhner, Pierre W. Wijermans, Hartmut Döhner were responsible for the treatment of patients and evaluation of responses.

4) Results. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables

Michael Lübbert, Björn H. Rüter, Rainer Claus, Claudia Schmoor, Björn Hackanson, Barbara Deschler, Anne Hagemeijer and Pierre W. Wijermans were responsible for evaluation of patient responses, statistical analyses and preparing Tables 1A and 1B, 2, 3A and 3B as well as Tables S1, S2, S3, S4 and S5 and Figures S1-S13.

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:

Michael Lübbert, Björn H. Rüter, Rainer Claus, Claudia Schmoor, Anne Hagemeijer, Pierre W. Wijermans, Konstanze and Hartmut Döhner were responsible for writing the manuscript.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

Study nurses: Christine Kalkhof, Cordula Heers, Clinical study team: Petra Kinzel, Jessica Baumer, Ljudmila Bogatyreva and Roland Weis Sharing of unpublished data: Guillermo Garcia-Manero, MDACC, Houston, TX Clinical Mentor of Michael Lübbert: Dr. Hartmut Henß, Freiburg Department Chair:Roland Mertelsmann, Freiburg Scientific advice: Michael Cullen, Eden Prairie, MN