Manuscript no. HAEMATOL HAEMATOL/2011/047811 entitled "European Bone Marrow Working Group trial on reproducibility of WHO criteria to discriminate essential thrombocythemia from prefibrotic primary myelofibrosis"

Authors: Thomas Buhr, Konnie Hebeda, Vasiliki Kaloutsi, Anna Porwit, Jon van der Walt, Hans Kreipe

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:

• Thomas Buhr, Institute of Pathology, Hannover Medical School, Hannover, Germany, Buhr.Thomas@MH-Hannover.de

• Konnie Hebeda, Department of Pathology, University Medical Centre, Nijmegen, The Netherlands, K.Hebeda@pathol.umcn.nl

• Vasiliki Kaloutsi, Department of Pathology, Aristoteles University, Thessaloniki, Greece, valikaloutsi@yahoo.com

• Anna Porwit, Department of Pathology, Karolinska University Hospital, Stockholm, Sweden and Dept. of Laboratory Hematology, University Health Network, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Anna.Porwit@uhn.ca

• Jon van der Walt, Department of Histopathology, St. Thomas Hospital, London, United Kingdom, jonvanderwalt@madasafish.com

• Hans Kreipe, Institute of Pathology, Hannover Medical School, Hannover, Germany, Kreipe.Hans@MH-Hannover.de

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (<u>http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html</u>): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 <u>Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the</u> <u>research group alone does not constitute authorship</u>".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the **conception of the study**: Thomas Buhr, Konnie Hebeda, Vassiliki Kaloutsi, Anna Porwit, Jon Van der Walt, Hans Kreipe

3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations
Thomas Buhr, Konnie Hebeda, Vassiliki Kaloutsi, Anna Porwit, Jon Van der Walt, Hans Kreipe contributed and reclassified all cases.

• Thomas Buhr and Hans Kreipe collected the different diagnoses of the participants of the trial and performed the statistics.

4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables See 3)

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
Thomas Buhr and Hans Kreipe preparation of draft, Konnie Hebeda, Vassiliki Kaloutsi, Anna Porwit, and Jon Van der Walt were involved in finalizing the manuscript.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

Harald Choritz and Britta Wiese performed the statistical analysis of kappa-values. Jürgen Thiele and Guntram Büsche were involved in a preliminary trial on the same subject which was conducted in 2001 by pathologists in Hannover and Köln; experiences from this unpublished trial helped to design the current study. Jim Vardiman read the draft of the manuscript.