Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2011/047506 entitled "Results of the APML3 trial incorporating all-trans-retinoic acid and idarubicin in both induction and consolidation as initial therapy for patients with acute promyelocytic leukemia"

Authors: Harry Iland, Ken Bradstock, John Seymour, Mark Hertzberg, Andrew Grigg, Kerry Taylor, John Catalano, Paul Cannell, Noemi Horvath, Sandra Deveridge, Peter Browett, Tim Brighton, Li Chong, Francisca Springall, Juliet Ayling, Alberto Catalano, Shane Supple, Marnie Collins, Juliana Di Iulio, and John Reynolds, for the Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Harry Iland, Institute of Haematology, Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Missenden Rd. Camperdown, NSW, Australia 2050. Email: harry@email.cs.nsw.gov.au

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Harry Iland, Ken Bradstock
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please
- Harry Iland, Ken Bradstock, Mark Hertzberg, Andrew Grigg, Kerry Taylor, John Catalano, Paul Cannell, Noemi Horvath, Sandra Deveridge, Peter Browett, Tim Brighton enrolled patients.
- Li Chong, Francisca Springall, Alberto Catalano, Shane Supple were responsible for molecular monitoring
- Juliet Ayling performed *FLT3* mutation detection and characterisation
- John Reynolds, Juliana Di Iulio, Harry Iland performed data validation
- John Reynolds, Marnie Collins were responsible for statistical analysis
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- John Reynolds, Marnie Collins were responsible for Table 1
- Marnie Collins, Harry Iland were responsible for Table 2
- John Reynolds, Marnie Collins, Harry Iland were responsible for Tables 3,4
- John Reynolds, Marnie Collins, Harry Iland were responsible for Figures 1,2
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Harry Iland, Ken Bradstock, John Seymour, Andrew Grigg, Marnie Collins, John Reynolds
- 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:
- data management was supported by Pharmacia & Upjohn
- molecular monitoring was supported by the Anthony Rothe Memorial Trust