Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2011/046078 entitled "A prospective multicenter observational study of decitabine treatment in Korean patients with myelodysplastic syndrome"

Authors: Je-Hwan Lee, Jun Ho Jang, Jinny Park, Seonyang Park, Young-Don Joo, Yeo-Kyeoung Kim, Hoon-Gu Kim, Chul Won Choi, Sung-Hyun Kim, Seong Kyu Park, Eunkyung Park, Yoo Hong Min

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Je-Hwan Lee, Asan Medical Center, University of Ulsan College of Medicine, jhlee3@amc.seoul.kr
- Jun Ho Jang, Samsung Medical Center, Sungkyunkwan University School of Medicine, junhojang@skku.edu
- Jin Hee Park, Gil Medical Center, Gachon University, jhagnes@gilhospital.com
- Seonyang Park, Seoul National University Hospital, seonpark@plaza.snu.ac.kr
- Young-Don Joo, Haeundae Paik Hospital, Inje University College of Medicine, yjoo@inje.ac.kr
- Yeo-Kyeoung Kim, Chonnam National University Hwasun Hospital, yeokim@chonnam.ac.kr
- Hoon-Gu Kim, Gyeongsang National University Hospital, sharpkhg@paran.com
- Chul Won Choi, Korea University Guro Hospital, bonnie@korea.ac.kr
- Sung-Hyun Kim, Dong-A University Hospital, kshmoon@dau.ac.kr
- Seong Kyu Park, Soonchunhyang University Bucheon Hospital, skpark@schbc.ac.kr
- Eunkyung Park, Chung-Ang University Hospital, lisa1114@hanmail.net
- Yoo Hong Min, Severance Hospital, Yonsei University College of Medicine, minbrmmd@yumc.yonsei.ac.kr

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_lauthor.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Je-Hwan Lee and Yoo Hong Min
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):
- Je-Hwan Lee and Yoo Hong Min were responsible for study protocol development.
- Je-Hwan Lee, Jun Ho Jang, and Yoo Hong Min were responsible for protocol revision and final approval of the protocol.
- Je-Hwan Lee was responsible for development of case record form.
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- All authors were responsible for collection and assembly of data.
- Je-Hwan Lee and Jun Ho Jang were responsible for analyses and interpretation of data.
- Je-Hwan Lee and Jun Ho Jang were responsible for Tables 1 &2 and Figures 1, 2, and 3.
- Je-Hwan Lee was responsible for Table 3.

- All authors approved the final results of data analyses and interpretation for the study.
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Je-Hwan Lee was responsible for writing the manuscript.
- All authors were responsible for final approval of the manuscript.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

List of contributors who participated in the study and provided assistance for data collection.

- Seung-Hyun Nam, Seoul Veterans Hospital, mednsh@hanmail.net,
- Hyun Woo Lee, Ajou University Hospital, hwlee71@gmail.com
- Min Kyoung Kim, Yeungnam University Medical Center, kmink21c@hanmail.net
- Chul Soo Kim, Inha University Hospital, cskimmd@inha.ac.kr
- JaeYong Kwak, Chonbuk National University Hospital, jykwak@chonbuk.ac.kr
- Hun-Mo Ryoo, Daegu Catholic University Medical Center, rhmrhm@cu.ac.kr
- Ho Young Kim, Hallym University Sacred Heart Hospital, ksfamily@hallym.or.kr
- Byung Soo Kim, Korea University Anam Hospital, kbs0309@korea.ac.kr
- Yang-Soo Kim, Kosin University Gospel Hospital, yas@ns.kosinmed.or.kr
- Soo-Mee Bang, Seoul National University Bundang Hospital, smbang7@snu.ac.kr
- Chu Myong Seong, Ewha Womans University Mokdong Hospital, cmseong@mm.ewha.ac.kr
- KiHyeong Lee, Chungbuk National University Hospital, kihlee@chungbuk.ac.kr

Je-Hwan Lee has received honoraria from Janssen, Korea for lecturing and presenting data at DIVA study meeting. Jun Ho Jang has received honoraria from Janssen, Korea for lecturing. Yoo Hong Min has received honoraria from Janssen, Korea for moderating DIVA study meeting.