Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2011/045211 entitled "The DNA binding factor Hmg20b is a repressor of erythroid differentiation"

Authors: Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Thamar B. van Dijk, Harald Braun, Sylvia Dekker, Reinier van der Linden, Jun Hou, Pavlos Fanis, Jeroen Demmers, Wilfred van IJcken, Zeliha Ozgur, Rastislav Horos, Farzin Pourfarzad, Marieke von Lindern, and Sjaak Philipsen

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

 Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
Sjaak Philipsen, Department of Cell Biology Biology, Erasmus MC, Rotterdam, the Netherlands. f.esteghamat@erasmusmc.nl

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (<u>http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html</u>): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 <u>Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the</u> <u>research group alone does not constitute authorship</u>".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the **conception of the study**: Sjaak Philipsen, Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Thamar van Dijk

3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations:

- Sjaak Philipsen
- Fatemehsadat Esteghamat
- Thamar van Dijk
- Marieke von Lindern

4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables:

• Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Harald Braun, Pavlos Fanis, Jereon Demmers were responsible for figure 1

- Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Thamar Bryn van Dijk, Rastislav Horos were responsible for figure 2
- Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Thamar Bryn van Dijk were responsible for figure 3

• Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Jun Hou, Wilfred van IJcken, Zeliha Özgür were responsible for figure 4

• Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Thamar Bryn van Dijk were responsible for figure 5

• Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Sylvia Dekker, Farzin Pourfarzad were responsible for supplemental figure 1

- Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Reinier van der Linden were responsible for supplemental figure 2
- Fatemehsadat Esteghamat, Jun Hou were responsible for supplemental figure 3

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:

- Sjaak Philipsen
- Fatemehsadat Esteghamat

• Thamar van Dijk

• Marieke von Lindern

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

Drs. Eric Soler and Charlotte Andrieu-Soler: advice on chromatin immunoprecipitations Mr. Teus van Gent: help with statistical analysis.