Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2010/034991 entitled "High-sensitivity C-reactive protein is not a risk factor for venous thromboembolism - the Tromsø study"

Authors: Erin M. Hald, Sigrid K. Brækkan, Ellisiv B. Mathiesen, Inger Njølstad, Tom Wilsgaard, Jan Brox and John-Bjarne Hansen

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

 Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
 Erin Mathiesen Hald, Hematological Research Group (HERG), Dept. of Clinical Medicine, University of Tromsø. Email: <u>erin.mathiesen.hald@uit.no</u>

• John-Bjarne Hansen, Hematological Research Group, University of Tromsø. Email: <u>John-Bjarne.Hansen@unn.no</u>

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (<u>http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html</u>): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 <u>Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the</u> research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the **conception of the study**: Ellisiv B. Mathiesen, Inger Njølstad and John-Bjarne Hansen

3) **Design & Methods.** The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):

• John-Bjarne Hansen, Ellisiv B. Mathiesen and Inger Njølstad were responsible for study design

• John-Bjarne Hansen, Ellisiv B. Mathiesen, Inger Njølstad, Jan Brox, Sigrid K. Brækkan and Erin M. Hald were responsible for acquisition of data.

• Tom Wilsgaard, Sigrid K. Brækkan and Erin Mathiesen Hald were responsible for the statistical methods used.

4) Results. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
John-Bjarne Hansen, Sigrid K. Brækkan and Erin M. Hald were responsible for the results, including all tables. The results were critically reviewed by all co-authors.

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript: • Erin M. Hald was responsible for writing the manuscript. Sigrid K. Brækkan and John-Bjarne Hansen made significant contributions to the final text. The final manuscript was critically reviewed by all co-authors.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments: None