Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2010/033126 entitled "Polymorphisms in the 3'-UTR of the CDH1 gene are a risk factor for primary gastric diffuse large B-cell lymphoma"

Authors: Gunnar Jacobs, Stephan Hellmig, Klaus Huse, Andrea Titz, Andre Franke, Ruta Kwiatkowski, Stephan Ott, Markus Kosmahl, Wolfgang Fischbach, Ralph Lucius, Wolfram Klapper, Ulrich R. Fölsch, Jochen Hampe, Stefan Schreiber and Philip Rosenstiel

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole: • • Gunnar Jacobs, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology, Christian-Albrechts University, 24105 Kiel, Germany, g.jacobs@mucosa.de

- Stefan Hellmig, Department of General Internal Medicine, University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel, 24105 Kiel, Germany, Stefphan. Hellmig@damp.de
- Stefan Schreiber, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology, Christian-Albrechts University, 24105 Kiel, Germany, s.schreiber@mucosa.de
- Philip Rosenstiel, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology, Christian-Albrechts University, 24105 Kiel, Germany, p.rosenstiel@mucosa.de

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical\_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 ...... Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Schreiber S, Rosenstiel P
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please
- Ott S, Fölsch UR, Hampe J, Schreiber S, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for the recruitment of patients and controls.
- Kosmahl, M, Fischbach W, Lucius R and Klapper W were responsible for histological/pathological analysis and classification.
- Hellmig S, Kwiatkowski R marker selection and genotyping
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Huse K, Franke A, and Kwiatkowski R were responsible for the statistical anaylsis.
- Hellmig S, Huse K, Kwiatkowski R, and Hampe J were responsible for the mutation detection.
- Huse K, Titz A, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for the pyrosequencing experiments.
- Jacobs G, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for the luciferase reporter gene assay.
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Huse K, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for figure 1 and 2.
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Titz A, Franke A, Kwiatkowski R, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Franke A, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for table 2.

- Hellmig S, and Kwiatkowski R were responsible for table 3.
- Titz A, Ott S, Kosmahl M, and Fischbach W were responsible for supplemental table S1.
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Titz A and Kwiatkowski R were responsible for supplemental table S2.
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Titz A, Kwiatkowski R, and Ott S were responsible for supplemental table
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Huse K, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for supplemental table S4.
- Jacobs G, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for supplemental figure S1 and S2.
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Huse K, Titz A, Franke A, Kwiatkowski R, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for the association analyses.
- Hellmig S, Huse K, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for the mutation detection.
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Huse K, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for the experiments for mRNA instability/translational efficacy.
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Jacobs G, Hellmig S, Franke A, and Rosenstiel P were responsible for writing the manuscript.

## 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

Tanja Kaacksteen, Melanie Schlapkohl, Yvonne Görlich, Ilona Urbach, Dorina Ölsner, Tanja Wesse, Rainer Vogler

(Examples of those who might be acknowledged include a person who provided purely technical help, writing assistance, or a department chair who provided only general support. Corresponding authors must declare whether they had assistance with the study design, data collection, data analysis, or manuscript preparation. If such assistance was available, the authors must disclose the identity of the individuals who provided this assistance and the entity that supported it. Financial and material support should also be acknowledged.)