Manuscript no. HAEMATOL 2010/028365 entitled "The CEBPA gene is downregulated in acute promyelocytic leukemia and its upstream promoter, but not the core promoter, is highly methylated"

Authors: Bárbara Amélia Santana-Lemos, Ana Paula Lima-Lange, Mariana Tereza Benício, Thiago Donizete José, Antônio Roberto Lucena-Araújo, Alexandre Krause, Carolina Hassibe Thomé,and Eduardo Magalhães Rego

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

 Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
 Bárbara Santana-Lemos, Hematology/Oncology Division; Department of Internal Medicine; National Institute of Science and Technology in Stem Cell and Cell Therapy, Medical School of Ribeirão Preto, University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil, barbarasantana@hotmail.com

• Eduardo Rego, Hematology/Oncology Division; Department of Internal Medicine; National Institute of Science and Technology in Stem Cell and Cell Therapy, Medical School of Ribeirão Preto, University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil, emrego@hcrp.fmrp.usp.br

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study:

• Bárbara Santana-Lemos, Hematology/Oncology Division; Department of Internal Medicine; National Institute of Science and Technology in Stem Cell and Cell Therapy, Medical School of Ribeirão Preto, University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil, barbarasantana@hotmail.com

• Eduardo Rego, Hematology/Oncology Division; Department of Internal Medicine; National Institute of Science and Technology in Stem Cell and Cell Therapy, Medical School of Ribeirão Preto, University of São Paulo, Ribeirão Preto, São Paulo, Brazil, emrego@hcrp.fmrp.usp.br

3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations:

• Bárbara Santana-Lemos was responsible for design, handling of patient samples, RNA and DNA isolation, Methylation-specific polymerase chain reaction (MSP), bisulfite sequencing, and CEBPA gene expression.

• Ana Lima-Lange, Thiago José and Alexandre Krause were responsible for bisulfite sequencing.

Mariana Benício was responsible for bisulfite sequencing and analysis of FLT3 ITD mutation.
Antônio Lucena-Araújo was responsible for bisulfite sequencing and analysis of FLT3 ITD

mutation and CEBPA gene expression.

- Carolina Thomé was responsible for Western blotting analysis.
   Eduarda Baga was responsible for design and accrual of patient.
- Eduardo Rego was responsible for design and accrual of patients.

4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables:

• Bárbara Santana-Lemos was responsible for Figures 1 and 2 and for the analysis of CEBPA gene expression, DNA methylation status analysis of the CpG islands in the core and upstream promoters of CEBPA.

• Ana Lima-Lange, Thiago José and Alexandre Krause were responsible for DNA methylation status analysis of the CpG islands in the upstream promoter of CEBPA.

• Mariana Benício was responsible for DNA methylation status analysis of the CpG islands in the upstream promoter of CEBPA and analysis of FLT3 ITD mutation.

• Antônio Lucena-Araújo was responsible for DNA methylation status analysis of the CpG islands in the upstream promoter of CEBPA and analysis of FLT3 ITD mutation and CEBPA gene expression.

• Carolina Thomé was responsible for Figure 3 and Western blotting analysis.

5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript: • Bárbara Santana-Lemos, Ana Lima-Lange, Mariana Benício, Thiago José, Antônio Lucena-

Araújo, Alexandre Krause, Carolina Thomé and Eduardo Rego were responsible for writing the manuscript.

## 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

The authors are grateful to Ana Sílvia G. de Lima for the technical assistance with determination of PML-RARA breackpoints.

This work was supported by Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo (FAPESP Grant # 01/08693-8). BAS-L was recipient of a FAPESP fellowship (FAPESP # 06/58136-1).