Manuscript no. HAEMATOL/2010/032979 entitled "The European LeukemiaNet -Achievements and perspectives"

Authors: Rüdiger Hehlmann, David Grimwade, Bengt Simonsson, Jane Apperley, Michele Baccarani, Tiziano Barbui, Giovanni Barosi, Renato Bassan, Marie C. Béné, Ute Berger, Thomas Büchner, Alan Burnett, Nicolas C. P. Cross, Theo J. M. de Witte, Hartmut Döhner, Hervé Dombret, Hermann Einsele, Georg Engelich, Robin Foà, Christa Fonatsch, Nicola Gökbuget, Elaine Gluckman, Alois Gratwohl, Francois Guilhot, Claudia Haferlach, Thorsten Haferlach, Michael Hallek, Jörg Hasford, Andreas Hochhaus, Dieter Hoelzer, Jean-Jagues Kiladjian, Boris Labar, Per Ljungman, Ulrich Mansmann, Dietger Niederwieser, Gert Ossenkoppele, José M. Ribera, Harald Rieder, Hubert Serve, Petra Schrotz-King, Miguel A. Sanz, and Susanne Saußele for the European LeukemiaNet

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) **Guarantor(s)**, i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Hehlmann, Rüdiger, Medizinische Fakultät Mannheim der Universität Heidelberg, E-mail: r.hehlmann@urz.uni-heidelberg.de as network coordinator and main author of the manuscript

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 ... Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

2 -5) Authors (Conception, design methods, results, writing the manuscript) For their working group the Workpackage-Leaders and Lead-Participants (who are listed as

authors) are responsible for the conception, design, methods and results. The Chapters concerning their working-groups were written and corrected by them:

- NMC (WP1): Hehlmann, Rüdiger; Saußele, Susanne; Schrotz-King, Petra
- ELIC (WP2): Gökbuget, Nicola
- CICS (WP3): Mansmann, Ulrich
- CML (WP 4): Baccarani, Michele; Guilhot, Francois; Hehlmann, Rüdiger; Hochhaus, Andreas; Simonsson, Bengt
- AML (WP5): Büchner, Thomas; Burnett, Alan; Döhner, Hartmut; Ossenkoppele, Gert; Sanz, Miguel A
- ALL (WP6): Bassan, Renato; Dombret, Hervé; Foá, Robin; Gökbuget, Nicola; Hoelzer, Dieter; Labar, Boris; Ribera, José M.
- CLL (WP7): Hallek, Michael
- MDS (WP8): de Witte, Theo J.M.
- CMPD (WP9): Barbui, Tiziano; Barosi, Giovanni; Kiladjian, Jean-Jagues
- Diagnostic working-groups (WP10-13) Béné, Marie C.; Fonatsch, Christa; Haferlach, Claudia; Haferlach, Torsten; Rieder, Harald
- MRD (WP12): Grimwade, David; Cross, Nicolas C.P
- SZT (WP14): Apperley, Jane; Gratwohl, Alois; Niederwieser, Dietger

- Management of infectious complications, infection prophylaxis and supportive care (WP15): Einsele, Hermann; Ljungmann, Per
- Treatment research (WP16) Serve, Hubert (not continued)
- Registries (WP 17): Hasford, Jörg
- Guidelines platform (WP18) Gluckman, Elaine (not continued)
- Berger, Ute and Engelich, Georg were mainly involved by founding the ELN.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

- Assessors of the ELN: Clara Bloomfield and Ching-Hon Pui.
- Financial and material support: Jan Willem van de Loo, European Commission, Brussels
- Assistant in manuscript preparation: Gabriele Bartsch, Matthias Dumke, Ute Kossak, Barbara Müller, Nicole Schomber and Catherine Sodan-Boyer.