Manuscript no. HAEMATOL 2009/020305 entitled "Physical activity and risk of venous thromboembolism. The Tromso Study"

Authors: Knut Hakon Borch, Ida Hansen-Krone, Sigrid Braekkan, Ellisiv Mathiesen, Inger Njolstad, Tom Wilsgaard, John-Bjarne Hansen

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) **Guarantor**(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
 - Knut Borch, Ph.D-student, MD, Hematological Research Group, University of Tromsø, Knut.borch@uit.no
 - Sigrid Braekkan.Post-doctor, cand.pharm, PhD, Hematological Research Group University of Tromsø. Sigrid.braekkan@uit.no
 - John-Bjarne Hansen, Professor, MD, PhD, Hematological Research Group University of Tromsø, John-Bjarne. Hansen@unn.no

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study:
- John-Bjarne Hansen, Professor, Hematological Research Group University of Tromsø, John-Bjarne. Hansen@unn.no
- Ellisiv B. Matheisen Associate Professor, MD, PhD, Cerebrovascular Research Group, University of Tromsø Ellisiv. Matheisen@uit.no
- Inger Njølstad, Professor, MD, PhD, Institute of Community Medicine University of Tromsø, Inger.Njølstad@uit.no
- 3) **Design & Methods**. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations:
- John-Bjarne Hansen, Ellisiv B. Matheisen and Inger Njølstad were responsible for study design.
- John-Bjarne Hansen, Ellisiv B. Matheisen, Inger Njølstad, Sigrid Braekkan and Knut Borch were responsible for acquisition of data.
- Tom Willsgaard, Sigrid Braekkan and Knut Borch were responsible for the statistical methods used.

- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables:
- John-Bjarne Hansen, Sigrid Braekkan, Ida-Hansen Krone and Knut Borch were responsible for the results including the tables. The results were critically reviewed by Ellisiv B. Matheisen, Inger Njølstad and Tom Wilsgaard.
- 5) **Writing the manuscript**. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- John-Bjarne Hansen, Sigrid Braekkan, Ida-Hansen Krone and Knut Borch were responsible for writing the manuscript. The entire manuscript was critically reviewed by all authors (Ellisiv B. Matheisen, Inger Njølstad, Tom Wilsgaard, John-Bjarne Hansen, Sigrid Braekkan, Ida-Hansen Krone and Knut Borch.
- 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments: None