Manuscript no. HAEMATOL 2010.025767 entitled "The pre-B-cell receptor associated protein VpreB3 is a useful diagnostic marker for identifying c-MYC translocated lymphomas"

Authors: Scott J. Rodig, Jeffery L. Kutok, Jennifer C. Paterson, Hiroaki Nitta, Wenjun Zhang, Bjoern Chapuy, Lynette K. Tumwine, Santiago Montes-Moreno, Claudio Agostinelli, Nathalie A. Johnson, Susana Ben-Neriah, Pedro Farinha, Margaret A. Shipp, Miguel A. Piris, Thomas M. Grogan, Stefano A. Pileri, Randy D. Gascoyne, and Teresa Marafioti

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole: • Teresa Marafioti, Department of Histopathology, University College Hospital, 21 University Street, London, WC1E 6JJ. Email: teresa@marafioti.org.uk
- According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical\_lauthor.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 ...... Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study: Teresa Marafioti
- 3) **Design & Methods**. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations:
- Teresa Marafioti and Scott J. Rodig were responsible for co-ordinating the research and reviewing the cases
- Teresa Marafioti and Jennifer C. Paterson were responsible for identifying and characteriseing the anti-VpreB3 antibody
- Jennifer C. Paterson was responsible for performing the immunohistochemical and western blotting laboratory work
- Hiroaki Nitta and Wenjun Zhang were responsible for performing the CISH technique
- Thomas M. Grogan was responsible for reviewing the CISH staining
- Nathalie A. Johnson and Susana Ben-Neriah were responsible for performing FISH analysis for c-MYC alterations
  - Teresa Marafioti, Scott J. Rodig, Jeffery L. Kutok, Lynette K. Tumwine, Santiago Montes-Moreno, Claudio Agostinelli, Pedro Farinha, Miguel A. Piris, Stefano A. Pileri and Randy D. Gascoyne were responsible for providing the cases
- Margaret A. Shipp was responsible for helping with the clinical identification of cases used in the study
- 4) Results. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables:
- Teresa Marafioti and Scott J. Rodig were responsible for analyzing the results
- Jennifer C. Paterson was responsible for collating the immunohistochemical results and preparation of online supplementary Table 2

- Teresa Marafioti was responsible for creating Figure 1, Figure 2 and online supplementary Figure S1
- Scott J. Rodig was responsible for preparation of Tables 1, 2 and S1, and Figures 3 and S4
- Randy D. Gascoyne was contributed to Tables 1 and 2.
- Bjoern Chapuy was responsible for preparation of online supplementary Figures S2 and S3
- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Teresa Marafioti and Scott J. Rodig were responsible for writing the manuscript
- Jeffery L. Kutok, Jennifer C. Paterson, Stefano A. Pileri and Randy D. Gascoyne helped in revision of the text
- 6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments: N/A