Manuscript no. HAEMATOL 026120 entitled "Co-expression of collagen receptors leukocyte-associated Ig-like receptor-1 and glycoprotein VI on a subset of megakaryoblasts"

Authors: Tessa A.M. Steevels, Geertje H.A. Westerlaken, Marloes R. Tijssen, Paul J. Coffer, Peter Lenting, Jan Willem N. Akkerman and Linde Meyaard

Information about the contributions of each person named as having participated in the study

- 1) Guarantor(s), i.e., person(s) who is (are) responsible for the integrity of the work as a whole:
- Tessa Steevels, Department of Immunology, University Medical Center Utrecht, Utrecht, The Netherlands, t.a.steevels@umcutrecht.nl / tessasteevels@gamail.com
- Linde Meyaard, Department of Immunology, University Medical Center Utrecht, Utrecht, The Netherlands, l.meyaard@umcutrecht.nl

According to the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) (http://www.icmje.org/ethical_1author.html): "Authorship credit should be based on: 1) substantial contributions to conception and design, acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data; 2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content; and 3) final approval of the version to be published. Authors should meet conditions 1, 2, and 3 Acquisition of funding, collection of data, or general supervision of the research group alone does not constitute authorship".

The guarantors of this manuscript confirm that all persons designated as authors qualify for authorship, and that each author has participated sufficiently in the work to take public responsibility for appropriate portions of the content.

- 2) Authors who participated in the conception of the study:
- Peter Lenting, Department of Clinical Chemistry and Hematology, University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands, peter.lenting@inserm.fr
- Jan Willem Akkerman, Department of Clinical Chemistry and Hematology, University Medical Center Utrecht, The Netherlands, j.w.n.akkerman@umcutrecht.nl
- Linde Meyaard, Department of Immunology, University Medical Center Utrecht, Utrecht, The Netherlands, l.meyaard@umcutrecht.nl
- 3) Design & Methods. The following authors were responsible for specific investigations (please detail):
- Tessa Steevels was responsible for in vitro hematopoietic stem cell culture, flow cytometric analysis of hematopoietic stem cell subsets and collection of bone marrow samples.
- Geertje Westerlaken was responsible for *in vitro* hematopoietic stem cell culture, flow cytometric analysis of bone marrow megakaryocytes, collection of bone marrow samples, culturing megakaryocytic cell lines and analyzing them by flow cytometry.
- Geertje Westerlaken and Marloes Tijssen were responsible for setting up an in vitro megakaryocyte culture system, platelet isolation, and determining and collecting markers to identify megakaryocytes by flow cytometry.
- Paul Coffer provided technical help with problems around collection of cord blood and bone marrow samples, as well as problems with culturing hematopoietic stem cells and megakaryocytes.
- 4) **Results**. The following authors were responsible for specific portions of the results, including figures and tables (please indicate the person responsible for each figure and each table):
- Geertje Westerlaken was responsible for figure 1 and 4
- Tessa Steevels was responsible for figure 2 and 5
- Geertje Westerlaken, Tessa Steevels and Marloes Tijssen were responsible for figure 3.

- 5) Writing the manuscript. The following authors were responsible for writing the manuscript:
- Tessa Steevels was responsible for writing the draft of the manuscript.
- Jan Willem Akkerman and Linde Meyaard were responsible for correcting and revising sections of the manuscript.

6) Contributors Listed in Acknowledgments:

The authors thank Miranda Buitenhuis for her technical help with the hematopoietic progenitor cell staining and analysis, Marije Bartels for critical discussion on data collection, Gerrit Spierenburg and Koos Gaiser for their technical help with cell sorting and Prof. Kahn from the University of Pennsylvania for kindly providing Hy101 anti-GPVI mAb.

Authors Tessa Steevels and Geertje Westerlaken were supported by grant 0509 from the Landsteiner Foundation for Blood Transfusion Research.